York & District **Organists'** Association

The PipeLine

Journal of the YDOA August 2017

Patron Francis Jackson

President	Joan Johnson	01388 607710
Vice President	Maximillian Elliott	07956 525488
Secretary	Renate Sangwine	01904 781387
Treasurer	Cynthia Wood	01904 795204
Membership	Adam Parrish	07858 025527
Editor of		

'The PipeLine'

Phillip Sangwine

07949 730378

www.ydoa.co.uk

The York & District Organists' Association is affiliated to the Incorporated Association of Organists (IAO) and serves all who are interested in the organ and its music.

Contents

1.	YDOA Programme	3
2.	Next Event	4
3.	List of YDOA Presidents	5

1. YDOA Programme

YDOA Events

<u>2017</u>

August	Saturday 19 th	(11.00)	Visit to Banks Music Publications and Castle Howard	
	August	Saturuay 19	(11:00)	The Granary, Wath Court, Hovingham
	September	Saturday 30 th	(14:00)	Composite Recital given by YDOA Student Group
_				All Saints' Church, North Street, York
Oct	Ostahan	Saturday 21 st	(14:00)	Organ Recital by Philip Meaden and AGM
	October			Holy Trinity Church, Micklegate, York

2. Next Event

NEXT EVENT

Saturday 19th August,

A visit to Banks Music Publications, The Granary, Wath Court, Hovingham YO62 4NN and Castle Howard YO60 7DN.

Please meet at Banks Music Publications by 11.00am where there will be a display of music for members to browse.

There will be free time for members to have lunch in Hovingham, bring a picnic to eat somewhere or make their way to Castle Howard and eat in the courtyard café.

Will members please meet at the Castle Howard courtyard at 1.30pm when the Chaplin Rev. Anne Freestone will escort us

There will be an audience of visitors throughout the afternoon, so please will members prepare a piece(s) to play. You may wish to introduce and say a few words about the piece(s).

Please note that the organ music desk is similar to the old piano type stand, therefore it is not suitable for a large/heavy volume of music.

Several members may have visited one or both venues before, but another visit is always worthwhile and should be an enjoyable day out for all.

Kind regards,

Joan

3. List of YDOA Presidents

Founded in 1945

1980s

1945-6	Edward Cuthbert Bairstow	1980-1	Robert Hall
1946-7	Reginald Shephard Rose	1981-2	Michael Latham
1947-8	Archie W Sargent	1982-3	Richard Crosby
1948-9	Francis Alan Jackson	1983-4	Peter Maw
1949-50	H Reginald Mason	1984-5	Eric Grewer
1949-90	1950s	1985-7	David Templeman
	19305	1987-8	Lloyd D Smith
1950-1	Frederick Waine	1988-9	Geoffrey Coffin
1951-2	Reginald Shephard Rose	1989-91	George Pilling
1952-3	Edmund Stanley Walton	1989-91	
1953-4	Benjamin Dawson		1990s
1954-5	Benjamin Summerton	1991-3	Douglas Heath
1955-6	W Allen Bean	1993-4	Nicholas Page
1956-7	George James Stacey	1994-5	David Simpson
1957-8	Joseph Samuel McElheran	1995-6	Alan Aspinal
1958-9	Walter Hartley	1996-7	Peter Whitehead
1959-60	Benjamin Dawson	1997-8	Maureen Murfitt-Swindells
	1960s	1998-9	Jean Pilling
1960-1	Bernard J Porter	1999-2000	Edmund Cooke
1961-2	Ronald Perrin		2000s
1962- 3	William Addamson	2000-1	Alfred Boddison
1963-4	Alec C Cooper	2001-2	Cynthia Wood
1964-5	Evelyne G Bowmer	2002-3	Edmund Cooke
1965-6	George L Baggaley	2003-4	David Simpson
1966-7	Tom Ward	2004-5	Philip Paul
1967-8	Alec Brodie	2005-7	Phillip Sangwine
1968-9	Michael Minns	2007-9	Andrew Roberts
1969-70	Avena Helen Norfor	2009-11	Adrian Crawford
	1970s		2010 s
1970-1	Lloyd D Smith	2011-13	Raymond Sturdy
1971-2	Colin McGarritty	2013-15	Nigel Holdsworth
1972-3	Michael Phipps	2015-	Joan Johnson
1973-4	Jack Judson		
1974-5	Alfred Alcock		
1975-6 A Austin Winterbottom			
1976-7 Peter Whitehead			
1977-8 Ruth Smith			
1978-9	Maureen Murfitt-Swindells		
1979-80	Geoffrey Hunter		